The “What To Do With My Life” Paradox -How One Seemingly Impossible Question is Now My Source of Inspiration.


When I graduated at the end of four transformative and special years at UCLA, I still didn’t have a clue what I was going to focus on or what I wanted to do with my life. At a time when I was “supposed” to know what direction I was headed, I only knew five things – I wanted to live abroad, I wanted to speak languages, I wanted to meet interesting people, I wanted to work for myself, and I wanted be creative. I had a deep sense that I would work my way into finding the things I was meant for, but I really had no idea how they would manifest.

Cut to 15 years later and here I am, living in Guatemala with my husband and 2 children, speaking Spanish, running my own business, and working directly with Mayan weavers to create original handwoven textiles. For the most part, it’s just my life and I live it like anyone else, doing what I have to do to get through a typical day of work while raising two tiny children – sitting in traffic, running in circles, paying bills, the usual. Other days, I stop and look at it all from the outside-in and reflect on how far I’ve come. It is in those moments of reflection that I am so proud that I trusted myself enough, for so many years, to have made the life I am living a reality. Although I didn’t know what it looked like, I believed that it would happen.


For most of my 20s, I was in search of “what to do with my life”. I struggled, I succeeded, I tried and I failed. I was horribly impatient to find THE THING that I was meant to do and I often forced answers when they weren’t ready to be given. I stubbornly refused to get a 9-5 job because it felt like a trap and instead I did all the creative jobs I could conceive of, meanwhile feeling insecure and worried about how I would continue to support myself financially. I often felt lost, like I was probably wasting my time trying to dream outside of the box.

But, with time and experience, I eventually began to see and trust that things work themselves out, doors open, people are generous with their time and help, and opportunity presents itself when we are ready for it. Although I was still impatient most of the time, eager to find my “calling”, I also began to understand that at the very least, envisioning myself doing the things that made me feel purposeful, inspired, and successful was a really useful form of focusing my energy. Those years were such a test of my patience, my passions and my resilience, but most of all, they taught me how to really listen to my instincts, envision what I want, and do what feels true to myself even if I don’t know exactly where it will lead me.


By no means do I have it all figured out – my life is hardly perfect. As a mother, a wife, and a business owner, I constantly question myself and wonder if what I’m doing is the smartest move, the best practice, the right method. However, I can confidently say now that for me the beauty of living what I like to think of as an “authentic life”, means following my heart, trying out what feels right (even when I don’t know what the outcome will be), doing my best, asking for help, being vulnerable, sharing success and failure with the people I love, and always showing appreciation for the experiences I am living. I continually envision the life and career that I want and I encourage those who ask me how I got to where I am, to do the same. Sometimes envisioning the job or life that inspires you can be as simple as one sentence or a single photo that speaks to you deeply, that ignites a light in you. Write that sentence down, hang that photo up, put it somewhere where you’ll be reminded of it but be sure to move it once and a while so it doesn’t just become white noise. The practice of listening to your instincts can be hard at first, but the more we are aware of what feels right and visceral  as opposed to simply doing what we think is expected of us, the clearer that inner voice becomes.

From time to time, when I need a good reminder, I always go back to a quote that has been one of my favorites since I was 21 years old and which reminds me to trust the process of living life authentically. I hope it may for you, too.

“Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves, like locked rooms and like books that are now written in a very foreign tongue. Do not seek the answers now, which cannot be given to you yet because you would not be able to live them. And the point is, to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live your way into the answer.”
― Rainer Maria Rilke

10 thoughts

  1. Thank you for posting this. I am at a crossroads at the moment, wanting desperately to start a business working wth traditional weavers and embroiderers from around the world. I have been sourcing textiles and have a grand vision, but am stuck not knowing where to start. Financial security worries me and I know that it shouldn’t because I am resilient, hardworking and passionate. I need to follow your lead and just trust. Thank you for sharing your experience, it has pushed me a little towards the right direction.

    Like

    1. Hi Daragh, thank you so much for your thoughtful comment. I can completely relate to the point you are at in your creative life. Honestly, it sounds to me like you are already well on your way to doing and surrounding yourself with the things that you are passionate about. The fact that you’ve been sourcing textiles is a huge but the fact that you also have grand visions is also a major step toward making it a reality. I think the most important thing I have learned through similar growth into designing and building a business, is that patience truly is a virtue. I am not a patient person by nature but stepping back and allowing things to happen in time, has allowed me to learn and grow during this process. And like you said, TRUST that in time it will become what you envision it to be. Financial concerns are real but so are your ideas and it CAN happen for you. Sending you my best and thanks for reading!

      Like

    1. Thank you so much for your encouragement and support, Susanne. I am honored that we’ll be weaving and sending some beautiful Luna Zorro pieces your way soon. I hope you’ll be able to come down here for a visit one day in the future! All my love xx

      Like

    1. I am so happy to hear that, thank you for letting me know and for following along! xo

      Like

  2. Great little write up!! Im in Panama, not for long though, so no real time to explore. Only maybe one day in Casco. Do you have any stores I should go to there? My project is moving so slow, but should have some pics by July.

    http://www.hanawaxman.com us +1 415 407 4985 mx +52 1 322 118 7032

    >

    Like

    1. Hi Hannah, Thanks for reading! I think you and I are kind of kindred spirits when it comes to living life creatively:) Happy to hear you’re in Panama. Definitely take a swing through Casco Viejo, check out the American Trade Hotel, Karavan Gallery, Papiro y Yo, and the shop at the very end of Avendia A (walk towards to water), make a right on 1st street and it’s a big shop a few doors down on the right – they have an incredible selection of handwoven Embera baskets. If you’re there for dinner I’ve heard really great things about a new place called Tomillo as well as a place called Ocho y Medio. Let me know how it goes!! xx

      Like

Leave a comment